Thursday, October 17, 2019

Out Now: Sypha Nadon: Hiraeth (LP) [MZR050]

To celebrate its momentous 50th release, Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce the nativity of Hiraeth, the new full-length album from Sypha Nadon. An all-MIDI instrumental album with something of a world music and classical vibe, it serves as a very pleasant and contemplative listening experience that borders on the pastoral. As always, it may be listened to/downloaded for free at our Internet Archive page:

Sypha Nadon Hiraeth [MZR050] 10-17-19


1. Spring's Passage (3:41)
2. Festival of the Kappas (3:52)
3. Lost in Carmain Quarter (3:58)
4. Woonsocket (4:31)
5. The Merovingian (4:40)
6. Kowloon Rain (3:18)
7. Starry Wisdom (4:13)
8. Hiraeth (3:07)
9. Ulthar Fantasia (3:48)

Total Running Time: 35:10

All songs written, arranged, programmed and performed by Sypha Nadon
Produced, engineered and mixed by Sypha Nadon
Recorded at MZR Studios in 2018/2019
Art Design + Design by James Champagne
Cover art by Tang Ying (1755)

The music on this album was composed and created on my computer and is 100% MIDI. It was arranged and performed using the Voyetra Record Producer Deluxe Edition program, and was recorded using Goldwave. MIDI soundfonts employed was Arachno SoundFont 1.0.sf2

Caution: not for use with mono devices

A big thank you to everyone who has taken the time to listen to all of our albums over the last 13 years. We appreciate it!

Sunday, October 6, 2019

Coming Soon From Mauve Zone Recordings: Sypha Nadon: Hiraeth (LP) [MZR050]

Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce that our historic 50th release will be a new Sypha Nadon album, entitled Hiraeth. Like 2018's Pleasant Songs, it will be an all-MIDI album, but with a distinctly different sound than previous SN albums, which reflects some of the music I've been listening to a lot as of recent (primarily the Civ VI soundtrack and also Shenmue II). We hope to announce the tracklisting soon (as the album is still being recorded), but we have at least finished the cover and back cover art. For the first time, there will be two covers for one of our releases. Stay tuned for more info...

Sunday, September 22, 2019

OUT NOW: James Champagne: Crooked Looking Glass (LP) [MZR049]

Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce the release of our 49th album, Crooked Looking Glass, which collects various cover songs recorded by James Champagne (under his Sypha Nadon, Boy Destroyer, and Death Head Moths aliases) over the last 20 years, from a dirge-like industrial cover of Depeche Mode's "Just Can't Get Enough" to an ambient version of "Melt!" by Siouxsie & the Banshees. 

James Champagne:


1. Just Can’t Get Enough (6:46) original by Depeche Mode/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
2. Nibelungen (5:49)
original by Nico/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
3. Flowers of Evil (2:33) original by Charles Baudelaire/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
4. New Sadist (3:42)
original by Sutcliffe J├╝gend/ interpreted by Boy Destroyer
5. Discipline (8:23)
original by Throbbing Gristle/ interpreted by Boy Destroyer
6. The Demons From Adrian’s Pen (3:52) original by Bobby Prince/ interpreted by Death Head
7. Eraser (Polite) (2:29) original by Nine Inch Nails/Coil/ interpreted by Death Head
8. Rain of Ruin (5:02)
original by Suicide/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
9. Politics (1:55) original by Whitehouse/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon 
10. Be (1:12)
original by Current 93/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
11. Melt! (3:24)
original by Siouxsie & The Banshees/ interpreted by Sypha Nadon
Total Running
Time: 45:20
All songs
performed by Sypha Nadon, Boy Destroyer, Death Head Moths, and James Champagne

Art Direction +
Design: James Champagne
Recorded and
mixed at Mauve Zone Studios

Produced by
James Champagne

Recorded using

As always it may be listened to/downloaded for free at our Internet Archive page:

Saturday, August 31, 2019

MZR036: RISE HORUS RISE Special Edition once again available

After a period of time where it was taken offline for maintenance work, Boy Destroyer's Rise Horus Rise Special Edition [MZR036] is once again available for listening/downloading at our Internet Archive page:

Although the album sounds the same as it did before, the back cover art has been changed, and the Boy Destroyer Book that came out with the original has been redesigned, with some new photographs and content added.

Mauve Zone Recordings is also pleased to announce our next album: James Champagne's Crooked Looking Glass [MZR049], which will be a compilation of covers songs that he has recorded over the years under his Sypha Nadon/Boy Destroyer/Death Head Moths aliases. Some of these cover songs have been extracted from pre-existing release, some have never been released, and a few have been recorded specifically for this project. The album is due to be out in September, with more info to come very soon. 

Also coming soon: MZR050, which must remain a top-secret project for the time being. 

Friday, April 26, 2019

OUT NOW: Sypha Nadon: 20 [MZR048]

Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce our 48th release, 20 by Sypha Nadon. A compilation album assembled to celebrate the 20 year anniversary of the foundation of the Sypha Nadon sound, it collects material from close to a 20 year period and includes at least one track from almost every major SN album (with a few exceptions). Also included in the liner notes, for the first time, is a chronological discography listing all of the band's major LPs, EPs, anthologies, and compilation appearances (I hope to do a more detailed discography in the future, but for now this basic one will suffice).
As always, it may be listened to/downloaded for free at the MZR internet archive page:

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Coming Soon: Sypha Nadon: 20 (LP) [MZR048]

Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce that a new Sypha Nadon anthology will be released later on this week. Entitled simply 20, it celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Sypha Nadon sound (which began transmitting from transyuggothian sources in January of the year 2000). Consisting of 20 tracks spanning the entire length of the SN discography, starting from the original "Maggots" cassette tape to last year's well-received Pleasant Songs album, it gives a broad display of the evolution of the SN sound.


1. Maggots (TV version) 3:02
2. SCUM Manifesto (New Version) 3:30
3. Computer Death 1:16
4. The Ignored 2:30
5. Flies 3:34
6. Stop It! 1:53
7. Enter Horus 4:58
8. Machine Elves 5:02
9. The Fabulous Mr. Meaningless 8:08
10. Kind Hands is the Cure 3:23
11. Hunting Mutants on Medical Deck 3:15
12. Receiving the Logos 4:00
13. Yotsuba Corporation 2:57
14. Tangerine Nightmare 7:12
15. Coiled Horizons 3:01
16. Ghost Mountains 3:41
17. The Acknowledged 4:23
18. The Horrible, Terrible, Ghastly Things I've Seen 3:25
19. Gray Day 3:18
20. Melenkurion Skyweir 4:28

Total Running Time: 77:02

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

OUT NOW: Sypha Nadon: Gothic (EP) [MZR047]

Mauve Zone Recordings, in celebration of Halloween, is pleased to announce the advent of our 47th release, Sypha Nadon's Gothic EP!

Track listing: 

1. Threnody for a Dying Leaf (1:23)
2. The Worm of the World's End (9:41)
3. To Reave the Stars (3:54)
4. Spooky's Nocturne (0:50)
5. Time's Cenotaph (3:09)
6. Seven Signs (4:40) 

Total Running Time: 23:38 
Sypha Nadon is James Champagne
All songs written, arranged, programmed and performed by Sypha Nadon
Produced, engineered and mixed by Sypha Nadon
Recorded and mixed at Mauve Zone Studios (2018) 
Art direction + design: James Champagne 

Front and back cover art: Arthur Rackham illustrations extracted from Poe's Tales of Mystery & Imagination 

Caution: not for use with mono devices 
As always it may be listened to and downloaded for free at the Mauve Zone Recordings Internet Archive page: