Saturday, April 9, 2016


In this Year of our Dark Lord Xexanoth 2016, Mauve Zone Recordings is now officially ten years old. To commemorate this milestone, we have decided to once again make available for the public the label's very first release, Boy Destroyer's historic "Rise Horus Rise" LP, a classic of the noise/power electronics genre which was first released all the way back on March 6th, 2007, and which has long been deleted. This special Deluxe Edition of "Rise Horus Rise" features all 12 tracks off that original release, along with a number of bonus tracks taken from the "Wild Boys" EP of 2008 (which has also long been unavailable). This Deluxe Edition also boasts brand new cover artwork, along with a PDF/Word Document "The Boy Destroyer Book," this being a 33 page document that includes a special introduction written by MZR founder Arthur Limbo, the original liner notes for the "Rise Horus Rise" and "Wild Boys" albums, the very first Boy Destroyer interview, bits of fascinating trivia, many of the band's lyrics, and a variety of slightly NSFW photographs (many of which are taken from Dennis Cooper's blog).


1. Welcome to the Machine (4:56)
2. War (4:49)
3. Spill Blood (1:54)
4. Intellectual Punk (5:09)
5. Raped by a Deer (3:57)
6. Rise Horus Rise (5:21) instrumental
7. Human Lab Rats (4:40)
8. We Hate You Conservatives (5:13)
9. Retail Hell (5:29)
10. Electro-Sadism (5:07)
11. Scream for Terror (3:57)
12. Boy Destroyer (9:50)
13. Fucking Guilty (4:33)
14. The Secret (2:49)
15. Disobey! (2:08) instrumental
16. Briefing for a Descent Into Hell (6:42)
17. Wild Boys Remix (3:20) instrumental

Total Running Time: 79:58

Tracks 1-12 originally appeared on the "Rise Horus Rise" LP (2007) MZR001
Tracks 13-16 originally appeared on the "Wild Boys" EP (2008) MZR013
Track 17 originally appeared on the "A Dream as White as the Death of a Seagull" compilation album (2008) MZR014


Ray Pissed: Vocals + Lyrics
Sypha Nadon: Rhythm Loops + Beats
Isabelle Ducasse: Noise Guitar + Feedback

Album art by JC
The Boy Destroyer Book edited and assembled by Arthur Limbo and James Champagne

" must go through the deep experience of sickness and death to arrive at a higher sanity and health."
-Thomas Mann
As always, the album may be downloaded for free from our page at the Internet Archive site:

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Mauve Zone Recordings Anniversary: Ten Years

Hard as it is to believe, but 2016 marks the tenth year of operation for the Mauve Zone Recordings netlabel (which began operating in February of 2007). To commemorate this historic milestone, we have a number of exciting releases lined up for this year.
This month will see the re-release of Boy Destroyer's Rise Horus Rise, the very first album released on Mauve Zone Recordings, way back in March of 2007. Long deleted and out-of-print, this underground classic of the noise/power electronics genre will now be presented with a lavish anniversary edition, featuring all new artwork, all 12 tracks off the original album (plus some of the highlights off the equally out-of-print Wild Boys EP of March 2008), and a special PDF/booklet containing the album's original liner notes, lyrics, and other ephemera. This release will be MZR036.
On June 17th, MZR is planning on releasing a second Sypha Nadon "greatest hits" collection, a sequel of sorts to 2009's The Nightmare Factory collection. This new collection (which is tentatively being called Selected Ambient Twerks at the moment) will features some of the best tracks off the SN albums Our Lady of the Flowers of the Red Night, Orheculegenias4NIC8, Litch, Canadian Atheist, and last year's Monolith: effectively covering a 7 year period). The tracklist is still being finalized (more details on that in the weeks to come), but it is expected to feature around 17 tracks, plus a brand new song entitled "A New Circle of Hell." This release will most likely be MZR037.
This summer/fall will also see two smaller releases, the details of which must remain mysterious for the time being. They will be MZR038 and MZR039.
This fall/winter, MZR is also hoping to release a new compilation album, a sequel of sorts to the label's first compilation album released back in October of 2008, the groundbreaking A Dream as White as the Death of a Seagull. All of the groups that contributed to that initial release are invited for this new album (indeed, I hope to start sending out formal invitations in preparation for it soon), though we hope to have some new groups on this one as well. At the moment, all of this is very sketchy, but more details will follow: it is hoped that this release, the netlabel's 40th, will be catalogued as MZR040.
Watch this space!
-Arthur Limbo