Wednesday, August 12, 2015


Mauve Zone Recordings is pleased to announce our latest release: Monolith, the new Sypha Nadon studio album (and the follow-up to last year's Canadian Atheist).

Originally Monolith was to have been a 23 track double album over 100 minutes long. We eventually decided it worked best as a single LP and trimmed it to 13 tracks. Maybe one day we’ll release the other 10, but for now, we think it’s a stronger effort as one album (and it must be stressed that Sypha agreed with us on this point: in fact, it was his idea to cut it down to one album at the 11th hour).
As always, it may be listened to and downloaded for free from our Internet Archive page:



1. Dark Enlightenment (4:04)
2. 300,000,000 (4:08)
3. The Weak (2:24)
4. One Thousand Years (4:27)
5. Ritual (3:11)
6. Monolith (3:39)
7. The Drowned Giant (3:26)
8. The Jackpot (5:04)
9. Irem, City of Pillars (4:23)
10. Nameless (4:07)
11. America After the Rain (3:46)
12. Exotrilogy Symphony (12:05)
-Part One: Phantom War (5:41)
-Part Two: How It Is (3:52)
-Part Three: System Collapse (2:30)
13. The Horrible, Terrible, Ghastly Things I’ve Seen (3:25)

(Total Running Time: 58 minutes, 11 seconds)

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Update on the Sypha Nadon double album + cover art

Work is still progressing on MZR034, the upcoming Sypha Nadon double album (which I've recently, as in today, decided to rename Monolith). The music aspect of it is almost done, I just need to finalize the tracklisting, write the liner notes, and a few other minor things... I hope to have it done with this month but who knows? After this I plan on putting the SN project on indefinite hiatus: between the archival reissue project earlier this year and now this double album of new material, I think I've tapped the well for all its worth, and seeing as I started the SN project with the idea of doing a double album all the way back in the year 2000, this seems like a fitting capstone (and to be honest, it's become a distraction from writing, or maybe an excuse not to write). Anyway it will consist of 23 tracks (12 on the left disc and 11 on the right disc, just like NIN's The Fragile) and I expect it to be somewhere between 95-100 minutes long.